[Skip to Content]


Presented by the Restaurant Association Metropolitan Washington (RAMW), The RAMMY Awards Gala honors the exceptional ability and accomplishments of the hard-working individuals and organizations of the Washington, DC region’s restaurant and foodservice community. Named the #1 Food & Restaurant event by BIZBASH Magazine every year since 2008, The RAMMYS celebrate one of Metropolitan Washington’s greatest assets: Its restaurants. A RAMMY Award has become the most prestigious award presented to members of the restaurant food and beverage industry in the Washington Metropolitan region. In addition a celebratory evening, The RAMMY Awards is the largest fundraiser for RAMW with support from generous sponsors and in-kind partners. Event sponsors neither vote nor influence the policies and procedures of The RAMMY Awards.



The first RAMMY Awards Gala was held in 1982 and was attended by several dozen restaurant industry players. Over the years, the Gala has grown in size and stature. Today, the event has grown to over 2,300 attendees and serves as a benchmark of success and prestige for nominees and RAMMY award winners. Click here to view past winners of The RAMMYS. 


The 2019 RAMMYS

The 2019 RAMMY Awards Gala will take place at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center on Sunday, June 30, 2019 from 5:00pm to 11:00pm. The Convention Center, part of an expansive list of world-class venues managed by Events DC, is an extraordinary 2.3 million-square-foot conventions and meetings facility, is equipped to handle events of all sizes, from small groups and break-out meetings to events for 500 to 42,000 attendees. One of the most energy-efficient buildings for its size, the Convention Center includes a range of mixed-use exhibit spaces, 198,000 square feet of flexible meeting space with a total of 77 break-out rooms and the largest ballroom in the region.


The Awards

The RAMMY Awards consist of 21 separate award categories and two special achievement awards. Ballot tabulation for The RAMMY Awards is handled by independent accounting firm Thompson Greenspon. All results are final and are kept confidential until the Awards presentation ceremony in June. Click here to view the award categories and eligibility requirements

The RAMMY Awards open call-to-entry begins in December 2018. Award finalists are announced in March 2019. Winners are announced at the Awards Gala in June.

Award Presenters
Award ceremony presenters include regional and national media talent from broadcast, radio, and print media.  Sponsors are not eligible to be presenters. Presenters are chosen at the discretion of the RAMMYS committee.


For additional information, please see the frequently asked question section and visit therammys.org.

Click here to view the Awards Governance and Procedures


Follow Us Facebook Twitter